More Than This by Patrick Ness

Standard

61iu72bptrll-_sx307_bo1204203200_Seth is drowning. Being pummeled by wave after wave, barely having a chance to catch a breath of air. The waves slam him into a rock. Seth feels his skull crack open. And then he wakes up in a place that can only be described as his own personal hell. Where is he really? And what really happened to him?

If you’re looking for a suspenseful and heart wrenching, semi-coming of age novel, this is your book. While I thought the beginning of the More Than This was a bit slow, it turned into a page turner. There were many times throughout the book where my pulse was racing and I found myself holding my breath in anticipation of what was to come. The characters are lifelike and I became invested in them almost immediately. Patrick Ness does a great job at pacing out the story with plenty of twists and turns that left me guessing the entire time. Even at the end, I wasn’t completely sure if any of it was real, but I think that’s the point. It places you exactly where the characters are: confused with no positive or solid answers.

However, I did have two issues with the book. The first was I felt that Ness was a bit repetitive. He had the characters repeating themselves several times throughout the book to the point where I was like, ‘OK, I get it, let’s move on.’ The second issue was I felt that the ending was a bit anti-climatic. When I was close to the end I was prepared to give the book 5 stars on Goodreads, that’s how good it was. But then the end kind of petered out and left me slightly disappointed. Which was tough because I—like the characters—wanted answers, but at the same time I liked that I was in the same boat as the characters with not having solid answers on anything. While it creates more of a connection with the characters, I think a bit more closure at the end would have made the ending better.

Despite the few issues I had with More Than This, I still enjoyed it a lot. This was the second book I have read by Ness (the first being A Monster Calls) and his amazing writing and ability to tell terrific stories makes me want to pick up another one of his books. I’ve actually had my eye on The Rest of Us Just Live Here for a while, so hopefully I can get myself a copy soon!

Leave a Reply

