A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens

Standard

a-christmas-carolOn the night of Christmas Eve, Ebenezer Scrooge, a callous and greedy old man, is visited by the ghost of his deceased business partner, Jacob Marley with a warning: That he would be visited by three spirits to help him see the errors of his ways. Haunted by the ghosts of Christmas Past, Christmas Present, and of Christmas Yet to Come, Scrooge quickly realizes how his attitude has shaped some of the hardships surrounding those he is acquainted with, as well as what others really think of him, and is determined to help make them right before it is too late.

I specifically saved reading this book toward the holidays, because I felt it was only appropriate. Although I should have read A Christmas Carol previously because it’s a literary classic, now that I have read it I feel like I didn’t really need to. Only because I already knew the entire story.

A relatively short book—only about 100 pages or so depending on what version you read—every detail you’ve heard about (or seen in a movie) A Christmas Carol is the entire story. I was expecting there to be more to the story. In fact, I have it on my Kindle, so I wasn’t aware of the length until I checked and was surprised at how short it was. If I knew I would finish it in a weekend, I probably would’ve waited to read it when it got closer to Christmas.

However, I still greatly enjoyed the story. Charles Dickens uses descriptive language that helps paint a picture that is not easy to forget while driving home a good moral without being preachy. Also, I think the short length is not necessarily a bad thing: Call me old fashioned, but this could turn into a countdown to Christmas reading tradition where the family reads a stave a night out loud.

2 thoughts on “A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens

  1. I love Christmas classics and this is one of them. I think I’ve read this book twice and have watched every movie renditions out there. I like how you captured the reader at the beginning of the post. You have wonderful description skills. 🙂

Leave a Reply

