Suicide Squad: A Movie Review

Standard

suicide-squad-movie-2016-posterWhen an evil force is released bent on destroying the world, the government puts together a crew of the deadliest villains to stop it in return for some time off of their sentence. But when the group finds out exactly what they’re up against and the high failure rate attached to the mission, will they fulfill their contract as planned or rebel?

Overall, I thought Suicide Squad was pretty good. It definitely wasn’t as bad as the reviews I had been hearing, especially about how the script was all over the place. I personally didn’t think it was, but I could see how the constant flashbacks and background information thrown in on characters could make it seem that way. But the movie kept moving and, although it was a bit slow at some parts, it was able to keep me engaged and entertained for the entirety of the two hour run time.

While the acting was very well done, I didn’t really like Jared Leto’s Joker. I felt he was a little over the top and trying a bit too hard to portray this mad man bent on destroying everything that stands in his way of getting back to his girl. I personally loved Harley Quinn by herself, but when she was with the Joker they both kind of annoyed me. I thought she became way too stereotypical I’m-crazy-in-love crazy girlfriend, and maybe that was the point, but I still think she is way better on her own. I also loved Deadshot, a character newly introduced to me in this film, and his quick one liners. I felt like his background was also different than most villains and that deep down Deadshot is really just a nice guy trying to provide for his family, which is kind of refreshing from the usual villain motive.

However, I think my biggest problem with the film was I felt the entire movie was more of a Deadshot and Harley Quinn movie. It’s like they should have taken either character and given them their own movie instead of creating Suicide Squad because the other characters seemed to be there just for appearances. The only characters I had heard of prior to this movie is the Joker and Harley Quinn, and while the movie made in interested in Deadshot, I didn’t feel like any other character was that important or even needed to be there. Deadshot and Harley Quinn were fleshed out and made real while the others are still cardboard to me and I felt no real attachment to them throughout the film. I’ll be interested to see if more is done with the Suicide Squad as a whole or if we’re going to get some spin offs of individual characters.

2 thoughts on “Suicide Squad: A Movie Review

  1. There’s 2 reasons I’m not as excited to see this one as I was, say, a month ago. It’s not as dark as I’d hoped it would be and we’re not getting much of a Joker/Harley Quinn backstory (judging from cast interviews). I’m still hoping for a fun and entertaining movie though. I hope it’s a hot mess, in a good way. Nice review! Would you be interested in sharing your work on Moviepilot/Creators. Please do shoot me an e-mail if you’d like me to expand on that. You can find my contact details on my blog.

    • simplydelete

      I hope you enjoy it when you see it! Like I said, I didn’t think it was that bad, but I also never read the comics or anything so I didn’t have as big expectations as some. However, there have definitely been better super hero movies made in the past several years.

Leave a Reply

