The Beginnings of the Writing Quilt

Standard

So I’ve had this idea for a quilt for several months (I think the idea came about around this past Christmas) but I haven’t really had the chance to start working on it because I’ve been busy. That and I didn’t have a working sewing machine until now (thanks to my amazing aunt and uncle who gave it to me then took it to get it fixed for me!).

The idea was that I would take a bunch of quotes about writing or books and stitch them onto fabric, and then sew all the fabric squares together to make a quilt. It’s a lot of work, but it’s turning out marvelously!

The beginnings of the quilt. The front side of the first four squares.

The back side of the first four squares.

"There is nothing to writing. All you do is sit at a typewriter and bleed." -Ernest Hemingway

"You must stay drunk on writing so reality cannot destroy you." -Ray Bradbury

"Our lives are novels and reality is made of words." -Tom Robbins

"You can't wait for inspiration. You have to go after it with a club." -Jack London

3 thoughts on “The Beginnings of the Writing Quilt

  1. What a great idea! When it gets cold outside, you’ll have a warm quilt and fantastic reading material. 🙂 Hope you post pics of the finished piece.

    I love the quotes you’ve chosen, Bradbury’s in particular.

    • simplydelete

      Thanks! Don’t worry, I plan on posting pics. as I go along 🙂 I also enjoyed all the quotes I found. My favorite that I haven’t stitched out yet is: “I write for the same reason I breathe– because if I didn’t I would die.” -Isaac Asimov

Leave a Reply

